Road Worlds 2013 in Baie-Comeau, Canada

Image

The dominating U.S. Para-cycling team in Baie-Comeau, Canada

The U.S. Para-Cycling Team’s art is winning, and in Canada, the team painted a masterpiece. As a whole, the team dominated the year’s final World Cup; handily won the World Championship’s overall medal count; and brought home 12 World Championship titles, including those won by first-time Para-Cycling World champions, Greta Neimanas, Jamie Whitmore, Muffy Davis and Aaron Keith.

Image

Some of the team’s Time Trial winners and medalists

To this haul, Dave and I added two flat tires, a wobbly training wheel, four double-digit finishes, and oh yeah, a cracked road tandem frame.

Image

Getting a push after a flat tire and wheel change

Last I wrote, I was reflecting on whether it is better to be lucky or good. As a team in Canada, Dave and I were neither. And as previously stated, if luck favors the prepared, then our preparations were inadequate. And, it’s probably more accurate to replace “we” and “our” in the previous sentences with “I” and “my.” Also, while we’re at it, “probably” should be replaced with “definitely.” But hey, we’re a team, and that means Captain Swanson gets to go down with the ship!

Image

Dave and me during our time trial in Baie-Comeau

For me, my lack of preparation stems back to my glorious off season where a didn’t touch the bike for a couple months, and when I did in the winter and spring, my riding was aimless and without purpose. And, although I made progress and grew stronger over the summer, I was building my strength on an unstable foundation. Worlds was an eye-opener that last year’s training, granted enough to compete domestically, was not enough to perform at the highest level.

Deep down, I think I knew this to be the case. When asked, I told whomever that my goal was next year’s Road World Championships in Greenville, South Carolina. Why? Because it will be awesome to win on American soil! And probably also because I knew I had not put in the necessary work to be competitive this year. On the plus side, I find losing to people I’m usually better than highly motivating. For the first time in several years, I wasn’t waiting to hang up the bike and frolic through life for a spell following Worlds. I’m energized and looking forward to putting in a long off-season of conditioning and training to be my best and do some painting of my own in Greenville.

Just caught the end of a beautiful sunset with Greta Neimanas at the hotel in  Baie-Comeau, Quebec, Canada

Just caught the end of a beautiful sunset with Greta Neimanas at Hôtel Le Manoir where the team stayed in Baie-Comeau, Quebec, Canada

Leave a comment